in ,

Copa America finals: Complete list of title matches for CONMEBOL continental tournament

Copa America trophy

List of Copa America Finals

Since the inception of the South American National Team Championship in 1916, it marked the beginning of one of the esteemed tournaments in world football.

The tournament evolved over time to become known as the Copa America. The inaugural edition was hosted by Argentina, but it was Uruguay who emerged as the first champions.

Throughout the tournament’s history, a total of eight teams have clinched the championship title. Uruguay and Argentina share the record for the most victories, each with 15 wins.

As the 2024 tournament draws to a close with the final set to take place in Miami on July 14, let’s take a look back at the previous final matches and all the historic champions.

Copa America Finals: Comprehensive List of Title Matches

From 1916 to 1967, the Copa America followed a format of a league and round-robin competition, with some editions requiring tiebreaker matches to determine the champion.

Between 1975 and 1983, the tournament was not fixed to a single venue and consisted of round-trip matches.

Starting in 1987, the competition returned to a single venue and incorporated playoffs, although the 1989 and 1991 finals reverted to a league format among the top four teams.

Year Host Winner Runner-up Result Final Venue
1916 Argentina Uruguay

1917 Uruguay Uruguay
1919 Brasil Brasil Uruguay 1-0 (extra time) Das Laranjeiras (Rio de Janeiro)
1920 Chile Uruguay
1921 Argentina Argentina
1922 Brasil Brasil Paraguay 3-0 Das Laranjeiras (Rio de Janeiro)
1923 Uruguay Uruguay
1924 Uruguay Uruguay
1925 Argentina Argentina
1926 Chile Uruguay
1927 Peru Argentina
1929 Argentina Argentina
1935 Peru Uruguay
1937 Argentina Argentina Brasil 2-0 (extra time) Gasometro (Buenos Aires)
1939 Peru Peru
1941 Chile Argentina
1942 Uruguay Uruguay
1945 Chile Argentina
1946 Argentina Argentina
1947 Ecuador Argentina
1949 Brasil Brasil Paraguay 7-0 Sao Januario (Rio de Janeiro)
1953 Peru Paraguay Brasil 3-2 Nacional (Lima)
1955 Chile Argentina
1956 Uruguay Uruguay
1957 Peru Argentina
1959 I Argentina Argentina
1959 II Ecuador Uruguay
1963 Bolivia Bolivia
1967 Uruguay Uruguay
1975 Sudamerica Peru Colombia 0-1, 2-0, 1-0 El Campin (Bogota), Nacional (Lima), Olimpico (Caracas)
1979 Sudamerica Paraguay Chile 3-0, 0-1, 0-0 Defensores del Chaco (Asunción), Nacional

**Copa America Champions Through the Years: A Historical Overview**

**1983 – Uruguay:** Uruguay won the Sudamerica cup in a match against Brasil with scores of 2-0 and 1-1 held at Centenario in Montevideo and Fonte Nova in Bahía.

**1987 – Uruguay:** In 1987, Uruguay secured victory in a game against Chile with a score of 1-0 at Monumental in Buenos Aires.

**1989 – Brazil:** Brazil emerged as the winner in 1989, with the tournament held in Brazil, without a specified opponent, score, or venue.

**1991 – Argentina:** Argentina claimed the victory in 1991, hosted in Chile, with no specific adversary, score, or venue mentioned.

**1993 – Argentina:** Argentina triumphed against Mexico with a score of 2-1 in a match held at Monumental in Guayaquil during the 1993 Copa America.

**1995 – Uruguay:** Uruguay emerged victorious in 1995 against Brasil with a score of 1-1 and 5-3 pens at Centenario in Montevideo.

**1997 – Brazil:** Brazil secured a win against Bolivia with a score of 3-1 at Hernando Siles in La Paz during the 1997 tournament.

**1999 – Brazil:** Brazil claimed victory over Uruguay with a score of 3-0 at Defensores del Chaco in Asuncion in the 1999 Copa America.

**2001 – Colombia:** Colombia won the championship in 2001 against Mexico with a score of 1-0 at El Campin in Bogota.

**2004 – Brazil:** Brazil emerged as the victor in 2004 against Argentina with a score of 2-2 and 4-2 pens at Nacional in Lima.

**2007 – Brazil:** In 2007, Brazil defeated Argentina with a score of 3-0 at Jose Encarnacion Romero in Maracaibo.

**2011 – Argentina:** Argentina claimed victory in 2011 against Paraguay with a score of 3-0 at Monumental in Buenos Aires.

**2015 – Chile:** Chile emerged as the winner in 2015 against Argentina with a score of 0-0 and 4-1 pens at Nacional in Santiago.

**2016 – Chile:** In 2016, Chile secured victory against Argentina with a score of 0-0 and 4-2 pens at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford.

**2019 – Brazil:** Brazil emerged victorious in 2019 against Peru with a score of 3-1 at Maracana in Rio de Janeiro.

**2021 – Argentina:** In the latest Copa America held in 2021, Argentina defeated Brazil with a score of 1-0 at Maracana in Rio de Janeiro.

**All-Time Winners and Most Copa America Titles**

– **Argentina:** 15 titles won in 1921, 1925, 1927, 1929, 1937, 1941, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1955, 1957, 1959-I, 1991, 1993, 2021.
– **Uruguay:** Also winning 15 titles in years 1916, 1917, 1920, 1923, 1924, 1926, 1935, 1942, 1956, 1959-II, 1967, 1983, 1987, 1995, 2011.
– **Brazil:** Claimed 9 titles in 1919, 1922, 1949, 1989, 1997, 1999, 2004, 2007, 2019.
– **Paraguay:** Secured 2 titles in 1953 and 1979.
– **Chile:** Also with 2 titles won in 2015 and 2016.
– **Peru:** Achieved 2 titles in 1939 and 1975.
– **Colombia:** Won 1 title in 2001.
– **Bolivia:** Secured 1 title in 1963.
– **Mexico:** Has not won a title but ended as runners-up twice.


Check This:  Deontay Wilder Said His Legs Were Weakened By His 45-Pound Ring Entrance Costume

What do you think?

832 Points
Upvote Downvote

Leave a Reply


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

To use social login you have to agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website. %privacy_policy%

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.